Delhi Prisons Logo Tihar Prisons


About Us Infrastructure History Prisoners' Profile Reform Our Associates Our Associates Contact Us





Delhi Prisons has two Prison Complexes, one at Tihar being one of the largest prison complex in the world comprising of nine central prisons and one District Prison at Rohini Prison Complex. The total population in ten prisons is around 12000 prisoners against the sanctioned capacity of 6250 prisoners. There was steady increase in the prisoner’s population over the last years which is enumerated as below.

In order to decongest the existing prisons Govt. of NCT of Delhi is planning to construct new jails at Mandoli, Narela and Baprola.

Prison Complex at Mandoli 

Smt. Shiela Dikshit, Hon'ble Chief Minister, Govt. of NCT of Delhi laid the foundation stone of Mandoli Jails Complex on 30.08.2008 at Mandoli Village, East Delhi. The Jail Complex is spread across 68 acres of land and designed to lodge 3136 prisoners. The complex will house 6 jails - one for convicts, two for undertrials, one each for adolescent, women and High Security prisoners. There will be provision of  separate lodgment of  first time offenders  so that they do not come into contact with other hardened criminals. Residential accommodation for 333 staff members and staff hostel will accommodate 604 staff members.

The construction of Mandoli Jails Complex will help to decongest the existing overcrowding problem being faced by Delhi Prisons at Tihar and Rohini and is likely to be completed in November 2010. The Jail Complex is being constructed at the cost of Rs.169 crores (approx.)  

Open Jail At Baprola

A New Open Prison is proposed to be constructed near Baprola village over a plot of land measuring 125 acres.

Prison Complex at Narela

Besides the above prisons, 01 more prison is planned at Narela (North Delhi) for which Rs. 7.79 Crores has been deposited with the DDA for allotment of land comprising 40 acres.



Delhi Jails are under the Administrative control of Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi headed by Lieutenant Governor Shri Tejender Khanna. The Chief Minister of Delhi Smt. Sheila Dikshit, is also the Minister In-charge of Prisons. Shri Rakesh Mehta, IAS, is the Chief Secretary of Delhi. The Principal Secretary, Home, Shri  G.S. Patnaik, IAS,  is the Administrative Secretary of the Prison Department. Shri B.K. Gupta, IPS, Director General (Prisons), is presently head of the Prison Department, and Shri C.R. Garg, DANICS, is Deputy Inspector General of Prisons. The following is staffing pattern of Delhi Jails as on May 2009: 




Director General

Shri  B.K. Gupta, IPS


Deputy Inspector General

Shri  C.R. Garg, DANICS


Superintendent (PHQ)

Shri  S.C. Gupta, DANICS


Superintendent (CJ-1) 

Shri  B.S. Jarial, Prison Services


Superintendent (CJ-2) 

Shri  Rajesh Goyal, DANICS


Superintendent (CJ-3) 

Shri  Manoj Kumar Dwivedi, DANICS


Superintendent (CJ-4) 

Shri  Vijender Singh, DANICS


Superintendent (CJ-5)

Shri  Surender Mohan Bharadwaj, DANICS


Superintendent (CJ-6) 

Smt  Swantantar Pahwa, DANICS


Superintendent (CJ-7) 

Shri  Amit Kumar, DANICS


Superintendent (CJ-8 & 9)

Shri  Vijay Dogra, DANICS


Superintendent (Distt. Jail, Rohini) 

Shri  A.K.Khanna, DANICS


Resident Medical Officer 

Dr.   Rajiv Kumar


The custodial duties of inmates are performed by Delhi Prison Staff comprising of the following ranks: 

Deputy Superintendent- Grade-I and II
Assistant Superintendent
Head Warder/ Head Matron

Tihar Family

There are 1746 sanctioned posts for Delhi Prisons as on 31/08/2008.  Regular Sampark Sabhas are held by Jail Superintendents and Director General (Prisons) for quick redressal of staff grievances. For the first time newly recruited Prison Staff is undergoing comprehensive training at Delhi Police Training School / College. In-house refresher courses are organized for the Prison Personnel in the matter of Court Rulings & Provisions of Prisons Act / Delhi Jail Manual etc. Prison officers are also sent for refresher courses at RICA, Chandigarh & Vellore, NICFS, Rohini, New Delhi.

Families of Delhi Prisons staff have the facilities of vocational training in the field of Computer Education, stitching, embroidery etc. In addition, there is facility of Community Center, Extension branch of Bank, ATM, Library, Primary School, Gas Agency, Fair Price Shop and a Crèche is available for the employees of Tihar Jail in the campus itself. Medical facilities are provided for the prison staff through DGEHS dispensary located in Tihar Jail Campus. In addition, health camps for the staff and family members are organized at regular intervals. There is also an Insurance scheme namely “Sarangi Scheme” for the staff members at subsidized premium.

President's Correctional Medal to Delhi Prison Officials

His  Excellency,  The President of  India  has  conferred  Correctional  Service Medal  for Distinguished / Meritorious services on the occasion of Republic Day / Independence Day to the following officers of Delhi Prisons:-

1. Shri Rekh Bahadur Thapa, Head Warder      Meritorious Service      26.01.2000
2. Shri  B.S. Jarial, Deputy Superintendent Gr-I  Meritorious Service      15.08.2002
3. Shri  L.P. Nirmal, Deputy Superintendent Gr.II  Meritorious Service      15.08.2002
4. Shri Ramesh Sagar, Assistant Superintendent  Meritorious Service      15.08.2002
5. Shri Jagan Nath, Head Warder     Meritorious Service      15.08.2002
6. Shri Dharam Pal Upmanu, Head Warder      Meritorious Service      15.08.2002
7. Shri Ran Singh, Head Warder       Meritorious Service      15.08.2002
8. Shri Anand Prakash Kaushik, Warder     Meritorious Service      15.08.2002
9. Shri Sunil Gupta, Law Officer      Meritorious Service      26.01.2003
10. Shri S.K. Matta, Deputy Superintendent Gr.II  Meritorious Service      26.01.2003
11. Shri Udai Raj, Assistant Superintendent Meritorious Service      26.01.2003
12. Shri Atma Ram Thakur, Asstt. Factory Supervisor Meritorious Service      26.01.2003
13. Shri Jai Bhagwan, Head Warder Meritorious Service   26.01.2003
14. Shri Inder Jeet Singh, Warder Meritorious Service      26.01.2003
15. Shri Sunil Gupta, Law Officer Distinguished Service      26.01.2007
16. Shri Rakesh Sharma, Deputy Superintendent Meritorious Service      26.01.2007
17. Shri Dharambir Dabas, Head Warder Meritorious Service      26.01.2007
18. Shri Prakash Chand, Head Warder Meritorious Service      15.08.2007
19. Shri Dheeraj Mathur, Assistant Superintendent Meritorious Service      26.01.2008
20. Shri Jai Singh Malik, Head Warder Meritorious Service      26.01.2008
21. Shri Chokhe Ram Garg, Deputy Inspector General Meritorious Service      15.08.2008


<About Us> <History> <Infrastructure> <Prisoners' Profile> <Reformation> < Factory> < Our Associates> <Citizen Charter > <Contact Us> <Home>